Saturday, March 2, 2024

India’s Presidents & Their Cars Untill Now !!

Our readers, have a happy Republic Day. India is commemorating its 72nd Republic Day today. The day the permanent constitution came into force is one of the most important events in the country. India has made tremendous progress throughout the years. On this day, we take a look back at the automobiles that the country’s most powerful people have driven over the years. Here is a list of all the cars that India’s Prime Ministers and Presidents have driven in the past.

India’s Presidents & Their CarsList
Rajendra PrasadCadillac Country
Jawahar Lal NehruRolls Royce Silver Wraith
Shankar Dayal Sharma, K. R. Narayan, APJ Abdul KalamMercedes-Benz S-Class Armoured
Pratibha Patil, Pranab Mukherjee, Ramnath Kovind,Mercedes-Benz S-Class Pullman Armoured

1. Cadillac Country – President Rajendra Prasad

After India’s independence on August 15, 1947. However, the Indian constitution was accepted permanently in 1950, and the Governor-General was replaced by the President of India. Dr. Rajendra Prasad was India’s first president after independence. The President of the Republic of India’s first official car was a convertible Cadillac Country. It was imported for the president, and many more Cadillacs joined the procession for the fledgling nation throughout the years. Later, the made-in-India Hindustan Ambassador took its place.

2. Rolls Royce Silver Wraith – Jawahar Lal Nehru

Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru became India’s first prime minister after the country gained independence. Nehru was an automobile enthusiast who travelled in a variety of American and British vehicles. The Prime Minister of India’s first official car was a Rolls Royce Silver Wraith. The state car was given to Nehru by Lord Mountbatten himself, and the Prime Minister used it for many years.

3. Mercedes-Benz S-Class Armoured

Presidents Shankar Dayal Sharma, K. R. Narayan, and APJ Abdul Kalam all rode in the W124 armoured S-Class. Shankar Dayal became India’s first president to be given an armoured car. The president rode in a limousine that is well-known for its high quality and dependability. The vehicle also served the next two Indian presidents, for a total of more than 15 years in service.

4. Mercedes-Benz S-Class Pullman armoured

Pratibha Patil, India’s first female president, changed her official vehicle to a Mercedes-Benz W221 S600 Pullman Guard armoured limousine. Due to safety and security concerns, the vehicle’s exact characteristics have not been released. It is, however, the greatest car in the business, capable of saving passengers from direct grenade blasts, machine gun fire, and even IED bombs. The automobile was passed on to Pranab Mukherjee, the next president, and Ramnath Kovind, the current president.


Most Popular